Engage

Events & Workshops

Thursday, November 13, 2014 to Friday, November 14, 2014

This workshop will discuss the challenges and opportunities associated with development of new power system optimization tools in the context of cost effectively facilitating the integration of high penetrations of renewable generation.

Thursday, November 6, 2014 to Friday, November 7, 2014

This workshop will address the technological, cost, and market barriers that impede efficiency improvements to single-pane windows. It will bring together experts on windows and building envelopes, manufacturers of current low-cost technologies for improving single-pane windows, researchers working on advanced materials for window retrofits, and a representative group of the building owners and operators who make window retrofit decisions.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

This workshop convened leading experts in building science, control systems, and computer science to identify innovative research paths to increase the adoption of energy-saving building controls by reducing one-off design and installation costs.

ARPA-E Workshop
Thursday, July 31, 2014 to Friday, August 1, 2014

The workshop convened thought leaders and experts in power systems, data analytics, and control systems to develop new ideas and paths forward for the development of disruptive technologies enabling optimal grid operation with increased adoption of distributed energy resources, while maintaining and possibly increasing grid reliability and reducing carbon footprint.

Plant Phenotyping Workshop
Wednesday, June 18, 2014 to Thursday, June 19, 2014

This workshop convened leaders from distinct science and engineering communities to develop new ideas and identify potentially transformational R&D approaches in the bioenergy market.

Efficient Small Engines for Combined Heat and Power Workshop
Wednesday, May 28, 2014 to Thursday, May 29, 2014

The workshop convened experts in combustion systems, solid-state heat engines, and waste heat recovery and utilization technologies to identify innovative research paths leading to the development of devices that can provide electricity, heating, and cooling in a combined system in the 500 watt to 20 kilowatt range.

Advanced Dry Power Plant Cooling Workshop
Monday, May 12, 2014 to Tuesday, May 13, 2014

The workshop convened leading experts in thermal transport, advanced manufacturing, air-cooled condenser systems and dry power plant cooling technologies to identify innovative research paths forward for the development of disruptive technologies that can significantly reduce the water consumption needed to cool power plants at low cost.

Microscale Concentrated Photovoltaics Workshop
Thursday, May 8, 2014 to Friday, May 9, 2014

The workshop brought together the world's leading experts in concentrated photovoltaics (CPV), microscale optics, and MEMS to develop strategies and performance metrics for future research.

Monday, March 10, 2014 to Tuesday, March 11, 2014

ARPA-E held a workshop aimed at identifying transformational research and development opportunities for transportation network optimization.

Image of ARPA-E Acting Director Cheryl Martin
Monday, February 24, 2014 to Wednesday, February 26, 2014

The Summit brought together thought leaders from academia, business, and government to discuss cutting-edge energy issues and facilitate relationships to help move technologies into the marketplace.

Pages

Subscribe to Events & Workshops